AfterShow

A little cookie shall lead them

As a digital junkie who tweets while watching UP with Chris Hayes every weekend, you probably saw the @Oreo tweet as it happened in real time during the Super Bowl.

“OMG,” you probably thought to yourself, “That is <expletive> brilliant!”

Well, I certainly said that.

And after a good night’s sleep, I realized exactly what was so brilliant about the tweet. It was done in real time and in context. For those who watched the game from a first, second and third screen it was — and will forever be — part of the experience of being “at the Super Bowl 47 (XLVII?).”

For those who did not tweet during the game, they are waking up to the awesomeness that is the tweet on TV, in blog posts or in conversations at the water cooler. They know by now what all the fuss is about, but it isn’t the same as being there. For them, it never will be. They will never know that “OMG” feeling you and I shared. They will never, ever be part of the collective conscious of millions that occurred in that one millisecond when the twitter blew up over that one tweet.

And that is why you should never DVR or time-shift UP with Chris Hayes. Watching it later is not engaging in the conversation. Wake up early, tune in, tweet with us #uppers in real time.

Even if it hurts. Especially when it hurts.

3 thoughts on “A little cookie shall lead them

  1. Hahahahaha! Um..no…I will continue to “sleep in” on the west coast and watch from my DVR starting at 7am my time thank you very much.

    Frankly – unless this post was intended to be “cookie in cheek” – I’m a little put off by it. Pastry shouldn’t be this bossy & judgmental – it should just be sugary sweet and nice 🙂

  2. Of course it was intended to be cookie in cheek!! And a bit like that drill instructor who bangs a garbage can to wake the troops up in the barracks early in the morning for their own good 🙂

    Just a reminder that we lose a lot when we time-shift experience.. or maybe more accurately we create a different experience, but not a richer one.. still mulling stuff over, but there is something here.

  3. Well, here’s my take – even watching live I am not sure I would tweet actively. I just..don’t quite have the brain power to follow the ridiculously intelligent conversation AND then react to it in real time. Maybe I’d use the commercial breaks I suppose, but…I kind of like watching it on the DVR, then reading the tweet reactions afterwards. Occasionally a topic or a guest will be enough of a lightening rod (for good or evil!) to make me tweet out something at the moment, but I really like focusing on the show and absorbing things on my own vs having other opinions possibly cloud my initial judgment. I watch in bed with only phone as my connection to twitter and pause just to get my own pastry & beverage for a leisurely breakfast in bed with the Uppers crew 🙂

I don't do comments. Please tweet instead. Thanks!

